Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone

iPhone makes use of Cellular, WiFi and GPS data to determine your precise location and makes this data available to Maps, Find My iPhone, Share My Location and other allowed Apps and services that request this information. Share My Location feature on iPhone allows you to share your Location with Family & Friends via the Messages App and Find My Friends App. If Share My Location option has become unresponsive or appears grayed out, it is most likely that you have disabled Location Services on your iPhone or placed Share My Location under restrictions.

1. Sign-in to iCloud

You need to be actively signed-in to iCloud, in order to Share your Location on iPhone. Open Settings and tap on your Apple ID. If you are not logged-in, tap on Sign in to your iPhone.

On the next screen, enter your Apple ID and Password to login to your device.

2. Enable Location Services

iPhone can track your location, only if Apple’s “Location Services” feature is enabled on your device. Go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > on the next screen, make sure that the option for Location Services is turned ON.

After this, tap on Share My Location (it should now become available). On the next screen, move the toggle next to Share My Location to ON position and read the Message below this entry.

Share My Location feature is working on your device, if the message reads “Share your Location with family and friends in Messages…”.

3. Disable Restrictions

It is possible that you may have placed restrictions on Share My location option using Screen Time Passcode. Go to Settings > Screen Time > tap on Content Privacy & Restrictions.

If prompted, enter your 4-digit Screen Time PIN > on the next screen, tap on Location Services.

On Location services screen, select Allow Changes option > move the toggle next to Location Services to ON position and tap on Share My Location option.

On the next screen, move the toggle next to Share My Location to ON position.

Make sure the Message under “Share My Location” entry reads “Share your Location with family and friends in Messages and Find My…”.

How to Share Your Location On Google Maps How to Stop Apps from Tracking Your Location On iPhone Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 33Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 53Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 24Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 47Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 25Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 2Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 43Share My Location Option Grayed Out on iPhone - 41